You are here

Library of Latin texts. Series A

The Library of Latin Texts Series A contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas (1501 to 1965). The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. Searchable by period, author, title, century, and Clavis (CPL). Using any of the preceding will produce a list of options from which to choose. The choices work together--for example if Plautus is chosen under Author, the options under Title will be works by Plautus. Offers live links which enable the user to select a word found in a text of LLT-A or LLT-B and automatically find entries of the word in the constituent dictionaries of the Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD)

Date Coverage: 
240 BCE to 1965
Content Availability: 
Full Text