You are here

Databases

AdSpender

Ad$pender provides advertising information in the areas of TV, radio, magazines, newspapers, outdoor, and Internet and generates reports for company expenditures. Coverage includes information on national spending trends and provides information by industry, parent company, subsidiaries, advertisers, products and brands

Date Coverage:
Date varies
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

America's historical imprints

Provides a single search site for the following individual Early American Imprint databases: Evans: 1639 - 1800; Shaw : 1801 - 1819; and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia: 1801 - 1819. Keyword and Advanced search features plus browsing by genre, publisher, author, place of publication, subject, and language. Full-text access to all content listed. Newsbank

Date Coverage:
1639 -1819
Content Availability:
Full Text

American Civil War research database

Indexes individuals, regiments, and battles of the Civil War. Various information on dates, enlistments, death tolls, etc., is provided. Searching by name (individual, company, regiment, battle, location), date, Union/ Confederate, state, and rank. Some photographs available; some data has been graphed/charted. All information is compiled from printed sources and updated semi-annually. Alexander Street Press

Date Coverage:
1861-1865
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

ARBAonline

Provides reviews of reference books (print and electronic publications). Online counterpart to the print American Reference Books Annual; online coverage starts with 1997; updated monthly. Users can search by author, ISBN/ISSN, content area, and subject, or find new features by browsing the monthly updates

Date Coverage:
1997 - present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Archive of Celtic-Latin literature

Provides a means of searching for the occurrence of specific Celtic-Latin words that appear in the Celtic- Latin literature between 400 - 1200 A.D. The full text of these documents (in Latin) is also included. Covers all types of writings - scripture studies, sermons, histories, saints' lives, poetry, legal, and penitential writings. Brepols

Date Coverage:
400- 1200 CE
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

ArchiveGrid

Discover personal and family papers, oral histories, photos, and similar materials held in libraries in the United States. Information provided by participating archives and libraries, and collected from data on archive materials included in the OCLC/WorldCat database. Search by archive name, archive location, author, keyword, title, and subject. Limits by language and year. Results include link to finding aids (where available) and contact information for the archive. OCLC

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

Aristoteles Latinus database

Contains all of the medieval translations of Aristotle's works. Based on the print edition but includes only the text of the translations and none of the scholarly introductions, prefaces on the manuscript traditions, or the variations among the different texts. Brepols

Date Coverage:
400-1500
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Art and architecture in video

Collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to modern. Options to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. Alexander Street Press

Date Coverage:
1801-1819
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

BAS library

Provides access to a publisher specific index to the publications of the Biblical Archaeology Society, including the magazines Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey, as well as the content of four books. Most of the content is full-text accessible. ATLA Religion provides almost parallel full-text access back to 1981, however, this site provides more complete retrospective coverage. The search engine is surprisingly sophisticated for such a small index, enabling users to search by title, author, subject, word, issue, or date range in any combination. Biblical Archaeology Society

Date Coverage:
Varies by title
Content Availability:
Some Full Text

Best's Library center

Provides in-depth AMB Credit Reports on thousands of U.S. and Canadian life/health insurers, reinsurers and groups along with a database of corporate changes and retirements. Users are able to access reports back to 2001, view real time reports, access recent M&A activity, download financial data into an excel spreadsheet for research and analysis and perform company rankings

Date Coverage:
2001 – current
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Brownings

Accesses a database that when complete will contain a comprehensive and fully-annotated research tool to facilitate the study of the works and lives of Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning and their circle. During the first phase of the project, the database will list, in traditional bibliographical formats, all known Browning- related material--some 70,000 items. It will draw on Browning collections from around the world. Checklists of the Brownings' correspondence, contemporary reviews of their works, and supporting documents were released on 13 October 2001. Later, bibliographical descriptions will be added of the poets' library, their literary manuscripts, and presentation volumes. Also included will be listings of printed works of reference, biography, and criticism. All known likenesses of the poets will be described and their personal effects cataloged

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Citations Only
Resource Types:

Brownings

Accesses a database that when complete will contain a comprehensive and fully-annotated research tool to facilitate the study of the works and lives of Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning and their circle. During the first phase of the project, the database will list, in traditional bibliographical formats, all known Browning- related material--some 70,000 items. It will draw on Browning collections from around the world. Checklists of the Brownings' correspondence, contemporary reviews of their works, and supporting documents were released on 13 October 2001. Later, bibliographical descriptions will be added of the poets' library, their literary manuscripts, and presentation volumes. Also included will be listings of printed works of reference, biography, and criticism. All known likenesses of the poets will be described and their personal effects cataloged

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Citations Only
Resource Types:

Catalog of U.S. government publications

Serves as a finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP is the online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which dates from the passage of the Printing Act of 1895. Some records provided direct links to online publications. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s

Date Coverage:
1976 to present
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

ChemSpider

Aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a searchable repository. Use simple search for systematic name, synonym, trade name, register number, SMILES, InChil, or CSID. Use structure search to draw and find chemicals with the exact, substructure, or similar structures. Use advanced search to search by structure, identifier, elements, properties, calculated properties, data source, or LASSO similarity. Other searches available are ligand screening, chemical elements, intrinsic properties, predicted properties, and data slice

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Classic sermon index

Classic Sermon Index is an online database of about 50,000 published historic sermons by over 4,300 preachers. Nearly 75% of the sermons are hyperlinked to the full text. Search by pastor's name, primary Biblical reference, and subject. Search by date as far back as the second century

Date Coverage:
100-Present
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

Cochrane library

Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE or Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL or Clinical Trials); Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA or Technology Assessments); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED or Economic Evaluations). Information helpful for health care decision making. Searchable by title, author, abstract, keyword, DOI, etc. Browsable by Topic, New Reviews, Updated Reviews, A-Z, and Review Group. Databases updated monthly or quarterly. Uses Wiley online interface

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Full Text

CompPile

Provides ready reference to the published twentieth- century work in post-secondary composition and rhetoric. Site includes a help section, lists of search terms, a list of journals currently covered with links to journal websites, a list of publishers, a list of edited series, and a list of edited collections. It also has archives of journal runs in PDF files and other materials useful to composition folk, links to other bibliographic internet sites, a series called CompPanels on curiosities in the interface between graphic and text, and CompFAQs, a Wiki site providing reliable answers to common questions raised by teachers and scholars of post-secondary composition

Date Coverage:
1939-1999
Content Availability:
Citations Only

CQ almanac

Offers access to original reports by the CQ staff of all the activity of Congress since congressional year 1945, the first year covered in the print edition. The reports provide summaries and analyses of all people, legislation, elections, and issues for any given congressional year. Database may be searched by subject, decade, or congressional year. Policy Tracker allows the researcher to follow a policy topic through the years. Tables, graphs, and charts are also used when helpful to display information in a more accessible way

Date Coverage:
2007 to present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

CQ Supreme Court collection

Provides summaries and analyses of major supreme court cases, access to the full text of the cases, biographical information on the Supreme Court justices, and the institutional history of the Court. The information may be searched by keyword, justice's name, case name, document type, constitutional area and more. Coverage includes major Court decisions and all the cases that received written opinions by the Burger, Rehnquist, and Robert's courts (Oct 1969 to present)

Date Coverage:
2002 to present
Content Availability:
Full Text

Current biography illustrated

Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography. Includes references to current (or then-current) news sources on the individual. Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals. Broad coverage of people in media, politics, and all professions and arts are included

Date Coverage:
1940-present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

EAFUS

Stands for "Everything Added to Food in the United States" and is a database maintained by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) under an ongoing program known as the Priority-based Assessment of Food Additives (PAFA). It contains administrative, chemical and toxicological information on over 2000 substances directly added to food, including substances regulated by the FDA as direct, "secondary" direct, and color additives, and Generally Recognized As Safe (GRAS) and prior-sanctioned substances. In addition, the database contains only administrative and chemical information on less than 1000 such substances

Date Coverage:
Continually updated
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)

Now part of the database called America's Historical Imprints from Readex. Provides full-text and full-page- image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955- 59); and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images. This database includes more than 1,000 works located, catalogued, and digitized since the completion of the earlier microfilmed set, Early American Imprints, 1639 -1800, which was also based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography

Date Coverage:
1639-1800
Content Availability:
Full Text

Early American imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801 -1819)

Continues Evans' American Bibliography as edited by Shaw and Shoemaker and also part of the America's Historical Imprints database from Readex. Provides a record of publishing history in the United States for the dates covered and full-text access to these books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and European books reprinted for an American audience. Searching by keyword and browsing by genre, place of publication, author, subject, and others. Shaw-Shoemaker may be searched alone or in conjunction with either/both Evans and the Library Company of Philadelphia. Primary sources

Date Coverage:
1801 - 1819
Content Availability:
Full Text

Early American imprints. Series II. Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

Adds many previously unknown resources to the "Early American Imprints, Shaw-Shoemaker, Series II" materials from the collections of a premier private library of American historical, social, and cultural printed materials. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, sermons, religious tracts, and political materials. Also part of the America's Historical Imprint Series from Readex. Primary sources

Date Coverage:
1801 - 1819
Content Availability:
Full Text

EMarketer PRO

eMarketer provides updated market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Global in scope, eMarketer is helpful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and enables students and faculty to stay abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Emerging textiles.com

Delivers statistical reports about the global fiber, textile, and apparel markets. It covers fiber prices, textile and apparel markets, and trade rules and negotiations

Date Coverage:
Continually updated
Content Availability:
Full Text

FAOSTAT

Provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. It contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products related to production, trade, food supply, food balance sheets, food security, prices, resources, forestry, and fisheries as well as more than 200 of the primary works published by the UN such as the FAO Statistical Yearbook and the UN Working Papers

Date Coverage:
1961- a few years ago
Content Availability:
Multimedia

FAOSTAT

Provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. It contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products related to production, trade, food supply, food balance sheets, food security, prices, resources, forestry, and fisheries as well as more than 200 of the primary works published by the UN such as the FAO Statistical Yearbook and the UN Working Papers

Date Coverage:
1961- a few years ago
Content Availability:
Multimedia

Foundation directory

Provides current information available on U.S. grant makers and their grants. This online funding research tool allows users to search for grants or grant makers. Important note: due to licensing restrictions, this resource can only be used in the Baylor University Libraries. Please go to the Information Desk, Jones Library, First Floor for assistance. Library staff will log in to the Foundation Directory Online from one of the computers at the Information Desk for your use

Date Coverage:
Unknown; current
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Gale Artemis. Literary sources

Provides a single search site for seven different and very useful full-text resources in literature covering biography and criticism of major authors and literary works from classical Greek and Roman literature to contemporary works; all languages and most countries are represented. Among the individual titles included are: Contemporary Authors (biographical information and lists of published works), Dictionary of Literary Biography (in- depth essays on an author’s life and influences, and his/ her works), Literature Criticism Online (excerpts from critical essays and reviews of major works from poetry, drama, prose, and short story, and children’s literature), the Scribner Writers Series and the Twayne’s Authors Series (which provide in-depth book-length studies of an author and her works), Something About the Author (information on children’s authors and illustrators), and other sources with briefer information. Search all titles at once or select individual title(s) via a checkbox. Simple keyword search or advanced search by author, specific work, and subject. Limits by document type (article, book, etc.), language of publication, and date. GALE

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Full Text

Gale Artemis. Primary sources

Discover full-text, primary source material from law, news, documents, photographs and illustrations, and historical books covering the 17th to 19th centuries in one search. Also may limit to selected resources only. Simple keyword search or advanced search by author, title, publisher and other features. Limits to type of work (article, book, advertisement, etc.), publication dates, language, and library/institution holding the source. Allows for discovering term frequency use across the individual databases covered. Primary Source. GALE

Date Coverage:
17th to 20th centuries
Content Availability:
Full Text

Gerritsen collection of Aletta H. Jacobs

Trace the history of women’s movements and feminism over four centuries of documents and journals and across multiple countries in Europe and North America in this one collection. Full-text of primary source documents, journals, and pamphlets, in 14 langages (primarily English, German, and French), it is possible to trace developments in a single country or across several countries. The Gerritsen Collection includes advice manuals, education and professional training, history, social conditions, social reform, legal status, women’s health, and women’s employment. Among the books are many biographies of women – full-length biographies and biographical sketch collections. Gerritsen also has an extensive section of early women’s periodicals from 1860 through the 1940’s. Quick or Advanced search features are available for the entire collection, with limits for books or periodicals only. Primary Source. ProQuest

Date Coverage:
1543-1945
Content Availability:
Full Text

Global road warrior

Provides international travelers with information on over 175 countries and addresses 22 topics of interest such as business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. Maps and photographs are included

Date Coverage:
Most recent information available
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Google Scholar

"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research."--About Google scholar

Date Coverage:
Content Availability:
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Grant forward

Contains information about, and links to, more than 25,000 funding opportunities available from government, foundation, and private sources. User-friendly filters allow for precision searching, including opportunities for students and for early-career researchers. Optional features include researcher profile pages, profile- generated funding recommendations, saved searches and alerts, and export of funding opportunity descriptions. Tutorials are included. Produced by Cazoodle, Inc

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Health source. Nursing/academic edition

Provides citation and some full text of journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi- PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Searchable by keyword, author, title, etc. EBSCOhost

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

HeritageQuest online

Supports genealogical research by providing access to unique primary sources such as federal census name indexes from 1790-1930, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman's Bank Records. Includes digitized pages from local and family histories, and finding aid such as the Periodical Source Index (PERSI)

Date Coverage:
1700-2000?
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Subjects:

IMF eLibrary

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Users will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Some Full Text

ImportGenius

Provides access to shipping manifests for all shipments entering the United States and nine countries in Latin America. Searchable by product, shipper, port, vessel, country of origin, etc. Users can set up email alerts and save searches. MUst set up account to search database. Trade Data Services, Inc

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Institute for Christian studies repository

ICSIR captures, distributes and preserves digital research products. Here you can find articles, working papers, preprints, technical reports, conference papers and data sets in various digital formats

Date Coverage:
12/01/1967 to present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Intelligize

Intelligize is a resource that enables users to more efficiently research SEC filings, corporate transactions, and various other agreements. Through powerful searching, filtering, comparing, analyzing, and alerting capabilities, Intelligize is designed to help the user cut down on the amount of time and effort it takes to research and analyze SEC documents, filings, and other corporate transactions

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

International medieval bibliography-online

Covers scholarship on the middle ages (500 - 1400). One of two premier databases. International in scope and in languages, simple and advanced searches may be limited by academic discipline, geographical area, and centuries. Advanced search permits limits to author, title, language, and year of publication. As search boxes are filled in, the number of matching items is listed in red in the lower right-hand corner next to the "Search" button. Results are listed from most current to oldest. The database is updated 4 times per year. Citations include brief annotations on content. Journal articles and articles in collected essays only; no books or book reviews included. Works with Zotero, exports to RefWorks. Brepols

Date Coverage:
500-1400
Content Availability:
Citation + BU Info Links
Resource Types:

Jewish studies source

Provides comprehensive resources for the study of Jewish civilization and culture. Whereas the Index to Jewish Periodicals is strictly an index of periodical literature, this resource takes a more eclectic approach to its coverage of "the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present." Accessible within this resource are numerous full text biographies of prominent Jewish persons of current and historic renown, numerous full-text books, even an encyclopedia (Jewish Women in America). It also indexes a sizable number of academic journals and magazines, with some duplication of IJP (less than 50 %). Lots of good material, difficult to classify. Reasonably advanced search interface, including publication search feature, scholarly journals limiter, publication type and document type limiters. Does not possess scripture citation search feature despite indexing a considerable number of academic journals in Biblical studies. Contains abstracts. Good for supplemental bibliographic research in scripture studies, excellent for research in Jewish studies. EBSCOhost

Date Coverage:
1922-present
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

Job & career accelerator

Takes job seekers from exploring occupations to writing resumes and cover letters. This resource helps those in the job market to locate information on careers, location jobs and internships and serves as a guide in the job seeking process. Users will need to register to gain access to the information in this resource. LearningExpress

Date Coverage:
Current
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Journal citation reports

Provides information for journal evaluation using citation data including total cites, impact factor (with and without self-cites), 5-year impact factor, citable items, cited half-life, citing half-life, Eigenfactor score, article influence score, % articles in citable items, normalized Eigenfactor, and average JIF percentile. Also available are ranking by both Web of Science and Essential Science Indicator categories. Find journals by title or category. Can limit to open access journals only

Date Coverage:
1997 to present
Content Availability:
Citations Only
Resource Types:

Legal scholarship network

Legalscholarhsip network (LSN) is a division of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN). Site offers a searchable database of published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of law. Includes professional announcements and job listings

Date Coverage:
Date varies
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Legislative & executive publications

Provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress, including House and Senate publications: hearings, documents, reports, prints, and bills. Provides information on members and committees. Also provides access to the Congressional Record, CRS Reports, the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register. Provides political news content(1995-present) from the Washington Post, Roll Call, and CQ Political Transcripts. ProQuest

Date Coverage:
1789 - present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Listener historical archive, 1929-1991

Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television

Date Coverage:
1929-1991
Content Availability:
Full Text

Literature criticism online

Allows cross-searching of the following GALE databases: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Some Full Text

Mergent horizon

Provides users with capabilities for finding, filtering, and organizing information about companies and industries. Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ, over 6, 200 in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media, and Finance sectors. Contains up-to-date company description, stock price performance, and financial data. Allows users to perform industry comparisons and peer-group analyses, evaluate a company's business based on its products and services, and identify its competitors, major customers, suppliers, and partners

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:
Subjects:

Military & intelligence database collection (Gale)

Draws on diverse publications (books, media, scholarly/ popular/news articles, and images) to provide information on both military and popular topics. Default response is to scholarly and academic sources. Search by keyword, subject, author, etc., with limiters by date, full-text, scholarly, and document type (image, case study, aerial photography, etc.). Materials primarily come from publications by all branches of the military service, trade journals for the defense industry, and scholarly journals in all subjects, as well as popular titles for the general public. Gale/InfoTrac

Date Coverage:
1980-2013
Content Availability:
Some Full Text
Resource Types:

Musical theater songs

Identify, select, and create lists of musical theater repertoire. Searchable by voice type, character age, range, genre, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc. Over 11,000 songs from nearly 2,000 shows

Date Coverage:
1800's-present
Content Availability:
Citations Only
Resource Types:
Subjects:

National Science Digital Library

Provides resources for education and research on learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). A digital library of resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. Covers chemistry; computing and information; ecology, forestry and agriculture; education; engineering; general; geoscience; history/policy/law; life science; mathematics; physics; social sciences; space science; and technology. Searchable by grade level, resource type, subject, and pathway

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:
Full Text

Nexis Uni

Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics. Default search is for news, but you may choose to search news, legal cases, law reviews, company information, or a publication by clicking the named button. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10- K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Narrow search by several options including subject, timeline, and source among others. Option to use "Get a Doc Assistance" to walk thorugh searching for legal cases or legislation

Date Coverage:
Date varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Patrologia Orientalis

Provides a comprehensive collection of the writings by eastern Church Fathers in Syriac, Armenian, Arabic, Coptic, Ge'ez, Georgian, and Slavonic. Complements the Latin and Greek patrologies published in the 19th century. The full- text translations are searchable in the language into which the text was translated in the Patrologia Orientalis and the reader can check the translation with the original text visible alongside as a non-searchable PDF file. The interface allows for browsing of works, as well as searching, and retrieved passages may be downloaded as a PDF

Date Coverage:
ca. 200-800 CE
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina

Provides full-text access to the electronic version of the Latin portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, published by 19th century ecclesiastical publisher Jacques -Paul Migne. Its 221 volumes cover the works of the Latin Fathers, from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216. This resource comes with a search engine enabling keyword, title, Greek keyword, author, and volume searching options. Especially useful to researchers in Latin patristics and Medieval Church History (to 1216). ProQuest

Date Coverage:
200 - 1216 CE
Content Availability:
Full Text

People of the founding era

Enables users to search the various papers and documents contained in the University of Virginia’s Founding Era full-text documents to identify individuals and their connections. Prosopography is the study of groups of people (grouped by gender, occupation, birth year, and other key data points) to study the group itself, not just the individuals. This database enables users to identify connections, patterns, etc. through a keyword search, with limits for gender, birth/death year, occupation, religion, and geographical region to better enable such a prosopographical study. The data is less robust for women, slaves, and Native Americans due to the nature of the historical record, but is still useful for identifying patterns among these groups. References to the primary sources in the Founding Era documents (which Baylor also owns digitally) makes finding the context for the individual very easy. Interactive, visual graphs of connections are provided. Brief biographies are provided for all individuals and the data on each person is presented in the same way so that searches can be more effective. The People of the Founding Era is still a work in progress with information being added regularly

Date Coverage:
1713-1815
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Pivot

Search for funding opportunities (research grants, scholarships, etc.) from government agencies, private foundations, and other entities. Faculty can claim their profiles and personalize automatically generated searches. Must login/create an account to use. Search or browse by amount, deadlines, limited submission, activity location, citizenship or residency, funding type, keyword, requirements, or sponsor type. Also has excluding capabilities and the ability to save opportunities and to set reminders for due dates

Date Coverage:
N/A
Content Availability:

Political risk yearbook

Offers an annual collection of 100 country reports for academic audiences forecasting the risk of engaging in business in these countries. The analyses address potential risk to three areas of investment: banking and lending, retail, manufacturing, and mining, and exports to a host country. The analyses take into consideration events, political figures, historical and political background, and information on government, key sectors of the economy, and the environment. The database can be searched by country name from a list or from a map

Date Coverage:
1999-present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

PrivCo

Provides information on many well known privately-held companies. Information includes balance sheet and income statement figures, company history, company overview, competitors, and funding activity when available. Searchable by company name, industry, location and annual revenue. M & A activity and IPO status are also covered. Information on VC/PE firms and recent VC deals are included in PrivCo. Users must create an account using their Baylor e-mail address

Date Coverage:
Varies
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

SciFinder

Provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, CHEMLIST and CHEMCATS, to the registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database, and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Search for reference materials by topic, author, company, document identifier, journal, patent, or tag. Limitable by year, document type, language, author, and company. Search substances by chemical structure, markush, molecular formula, or substance identifier. Limitable by characteristics, class, and study type. Search reaction by structure. Limited by solvent, non-participating functional groups, number of steps, classifications, source, and publication year. Personal account required to login

Date Coverage:
1907- present
Content Availability:
Citation + BU Info Links

TLS historical archive

Essays and reviews from the Times literary supplement. Containing every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Also includes identification of the anonymous contributors, reviewers, essayists, and writers of letters and poems, allowing students, researchers, critics and authors to explore in greater depth the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and early 21st centuries

Date Coverage:
1902-2011
Content Availability:
Full Text

TOXNET

Provides access to databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. Databases include alternatives to Animal Testing (ALTBIB), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), ChemIDPlus Light, ChemIDplus Advanced, Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology/ Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), Dietary Supplement Label Database, Directory of Information Resources (DIRLINE), Drug Information Portal, GENE-TOX, Haz-Map, Household Products Database, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, LiverTox, Toxicology Literature Online (TOXLINE), TOXMAP, Toxic Release Inventory (TRI)

Date Coverage:
1965 to present
Content Availability:
Some Full Text

Twentieth century religious thought. Volume I, Christianity

Features scholarship from influential theologians in the Christian tradition, including extensive representation of feminist theologians and other previously marginalized and lesser-known voices. Created with scholars in mind, the collection couples the original materials with complementary resources, including meaningful interfaith writings and scholarly analyses of archival texts. With 150,000 pages of scholarship in one convenient online database, this resource gives students and scholars unprecedented access to the diverse ideas that have shaped understandings of Christianity across history. For the first time, researchers can search across hundreds of fully-digitized documents to instantly compare how different theories, denominations, and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another

Date Coverage:
1901-2000
Content Availability:
Full Text

Twentieth century religious thought. Volume II, Islam

An extensive research database of the most influential thinkers of modern Islamic theology and tradition. Seventy-five percent of the materials are in-copyright, and 80% are in English, making the collection accessible to students across the curriculum. The materials have been rekeyed to more than 99.99% accuracy and are presented using software that allows scholars to conduct in-depth word pattern analysis and data mining, as well as the ability to search using Arabic script

Date Coverage:
1901-2000
Content Availability:
Full Text

University Reporter

Provides media and consumer research, particularly data on magazine circulation, audience, age and income

Date Coverage:
1999 to present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

Variety insight

Delivers data and information that tracks people, projects, and companies across film, television and digital entertainment. It includes up to date and accurate development slates for TV networks, film studios and digital platforms so students are better informed about what Hollywood is buying and producing, direct contact information for over 50k entertainment executives, exportable project and talent lists, and talent representation including agents, managers, publicists and entertainment attorneys

Date Coverage:
Up-to-date
Content Availability:
Multimedia
Resource Types:

Web of science. Derwent innovations index

Provides patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index®. Patent coverage to 1963; citations to 1973

Date Coverage:
1963 to present
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types:

World religion database

The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050

Date Coverage:
1900-2050
Content Availability:
Full Text
Resource Types: